More Fun than Blowing Things Up…

It’s gotta be Playing with Fire.

And, since I’m going on a camping trip over Memorial Day weekend, I’ll have plenty of opportunities to to play god with fire. Or, play several gods at that… Pele, Hestia, Vesta, and yes, maybe even Vulcan. Not to be confused with the slightly less-than-godly Vulcan.

To spark my weekend intrigue (yes, lame-ass pun intended) I started poking around to see what I could see. When I came across this Slashfood post, I immediately empathized with the blogger’s opinion of individually wrapped fake cheese slices:

there’s really nothing redeeming about them. You get a mouthful of tasteless cheesy food product that coats your tongue like liquid plastic and ruins a perfectly good piece of grilled meat.

Because of my disdain for these slices of faux cheese, I was particularly delighted to discover a far more interesting and creative use for them. Cheese racing. This is a practice in which people (mostly like while they are under the influence of alcohol) toss the still-wrapped slices onto a grill, in order to see who’s slice will puff up the fastest.

While this is certainly an option, I am hard-pressed to waste my earned $ on nasty fake cheese. Even if it is to toss it straight into the fire. Because really, if I wanted to blow my money on something I’d just throw into the fire, I’d opt for (aside from the obvious firewood) something like a hand full of Black Cats. Hmmmm… play with fire and blow things up. Now we’re talking.

One Response to “More Fun than Blowing Things Up…”

  1. […] Hot Butter the good, the bad, and the ugly side of food « More Fun than Blowing Things Up… […]

Leave a Reply

