I *HEART* Duck

She meant this…

But for the life of me, all I could think about was this…

So, a coworker was telling me that her back yard was actually a little forest complete with a pond and a family of ducks. The ducks are wild, she tells me. But I raise my own ducks too.

You raise ducks? I asked, as my mouth salivated. I could already taste the seared duck breast, it’s smooth, rich flavor spreading across my tongue. Then came potatoes fried in duck fat. Against my better judgement, I asked: So, you raise ducks for food?

Oh no! I could never eat my ducks.

I have to admit, I kinda knew this would be her response. Still, I had to ask the question. I had to take the very small chance that, perhaps, she too might love and respect this revered animal in the same way that I do.

But, as chance had it, she’d tried duck once and never again.

Leave a Reply

