The Wonder of Bread

See any similarities?

Under most circumstances, I would say absolutely not! (except for sponge starters, of course) Well, unfortunately, at lunch yesterday my salad was accompanied by a dinner roll that was so dried up I could’ve sworn I’d just bitten into a hunk of scratchy sponge. But who cares, right? So, just don’t get the nasty dinner roll with lunch next time.

The thing about this dinner roll that causes so much wonderment is where it came from. I bought the little moisture thief from the New Seasons Deli in Raleigh Hills. Yup. That place with the amazing bakery that makes so many perfect loaves of bread. Ah, yes. The wheat nut is my favorite.

But I digress. How can New Seasons (aka The Friendliest Store) manage to make so many fine artisan breads…

while their deli dinner rolls are so terribly dried out!??!

Such is the wonder and amazement of bread… and New Seasons.

2 Responses to “The Wonder of Bread”

  1. I couldn’t agree more! New Seasons deli (especially Raleigh Hills) has the driest bread. I’ve stopped going their for sandwiches and I no longer get a roll with my soup. I propose we strike! Or better yet, perhaps we force feed the staff the horrible dry bread they serve us!

  2. Donna Arriaga Says:

    Ah yes… SANDWICHES. I didn’t even begin to get near that can of worms. Why oh why would they use plastic-bagged sandwich bread (probably pulled straight off the shelf) INSTEAD of any one of the remarkable breads from their bakery.

    A strike I hear you say? Mwaahhaaaa….
    Imagine the sheer horror of it all — being force-fed bone-dry dinner roll after dinner roll with a full glass of crisp, clean, refreshing water just beyond reach.

    Water water everywhere and not a drop to drink!
    Bring in on sista. The plans are in motion.

Leave a Reply

